Support Japanese font?

Discuss anything ProShow Producer related

Support Japanese font?

Postby Naoki » Sat Feb 16, 2013 12:54 am

I am new to use PSP. I am impressed at the sophisticated functions concerning English, but I sometimes need Japanese characters.
I knew PSP only supports True Type Fonts of unicode. I installed some of them and the PSP appears to have accepted them (recognized).
However, they barely work. The Japanese fonts were properly displayed in the column of "Captions"(left-hand side) but not in the "Selected Caption Text" nor in the main picture screen.
Can anyone tell me how to solve this problem?
Thank you in advance. Naoki
Last edited by Naoki on Sat Feb 16, 2013 3:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
Naoki, Tsukuba Japan

ProShow Hall of Fame

Re: Support Japanese font?

Postby DickK » Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:09 am

What you're seeing is the difference between applying a font to the caption and what fonts the software itself uses in the interface. So far as I know, there's nothing you can do about that part.

I think it should, however, be possible for ProShow to use the selected font in the "Selected Caption Text" area of the interface but it would mean a change inside the software itself--seems like something that would be a reasonable thing to add to the "requested features" section here.

Dick
"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it." Aristotle ((PSG, PSE & Fuji HS20 user)) Presentation Impact Blog

Postby cherub » Sat Feb 16, 2013 7:36 am

What do you need to do to write the same text in Notepad, with Japanese fonts?
Do you need to press on any key/s to change the system language from English to Japanese?
If you do, then it is my guess that you also need to do the same thing in Producer.

Postby Jean-Paul » Sat Feb 16, 2013 8:58 am

Hello Naoki,

Welcome to the forum.