Photo Editing Software

Discuss anything ProShow Gold related
Bill McMahon

Photo Editing Software

Postby Bill McMahon » Fri Jul 13, 2007 12:24 pm

I am a novice looking for a good photo editor that is reasonably priced, easy to learn to use and does more than just red eye redcution and cropping. I would like to create transparencies and masks as a starting point. Any suggestions are much appreciated. A friend gave me an "older" version of Adobe Photoshop 5.0 LE and it was just a nightmare ......
Any and all suggestions are welcome. Thanks....

MarkBUK

Postby MarkBUK » Fri Jul 13, 2007 1:11 pm

You could give GIMP a try as it's 100% free and has a lot of the features available in the top notch graphics programs like PhotoShop.

You have nothing to loose in giving it a try since it is free!

http://www.gimp.org/

Mark

ProShow Hall of Fame

Re: Photo Editing Software

Postby DickK » Fri Jul 13, 2007 8:31 pm

Bill McMahon wrote:... A friend gave me an "older" version of Adobe Photoshop 5.0 LE and it was just a nightmare ......

It might help if we knew what you didn't like about Photoshop LE. Personally, my recommendation would be PhotoShop Elements but depending on why you didn't like that package the same issues may be there--or not.

Another freebie to try is Picasa which is a Google download.

Here's a recent comparison of packages that might help as well:

http://photo-editing-software-review.toptenreviews.com/

Dick
"It is the mark of an educated mind to be able to entertain a thought without accepting it." Aristotle ((PSG, PSE & Fuji HS20 user)) Presentation Impact Blog

Bill McMahon

Postby Bill McMahon » Mon Jul 16, 2007 8:08 am

Thanks for the feedback, I guess I'll start with GIMP and also try Photoshop Elements.