SonicFire Pro Scoring edition

Post links to music sources and discuss music choices for shows

SonicFire Pro Scoring edition

Postby Magmatic » Wed Feb 01, 2012 6:59 pm

SmartSound has a free version of their software, ExpressTrack. And they have a paid version, Scoring Edition. With it, you can actually change the structure of a piece of music to fit the flow of a video production (or slideshow). For instance, you can use "spotting" to make the beats happen when you want them to.

When I do a slideshow, I usually make the show fit the music, not the other way around. I can see where being able to change music would be helpful (I certainly have had to edit music the hard way enough times to make it fit what I wanted.) But, it still seems kind of cumbersome. The music structure gives me something to go on.

Has anyone found scoring edition useful?
David Shuford

Re: SonicFire Pro Scoring edition

Postby Astra » Fri Feb 10, 2012 2:03 pm

David,
I've been using SonicFire Pro for 2 years now - for every show I've made.

By my opinion - it is extremely flexible: length of music, how you could combine & "mesh" several melodies together, add extra sounds for effect, even take melody "apart" & create something new out of it.
... and ONE huge PLUS: everything you will create out of it - is ROYALTY FREE.
Here is the link: http://www.smartsound.com/index.html

However - (my opinion again) - there are several conditions:
...- you have to own quite a number of SmartSound "Albums" - (usually 10-15 melodies in one album & about 5-10 variations for each melody) - to find melody to fit your show.
...- have "good" ear to recognize, what fits and what not.
...- & also (probably - why & what works in my case) - some basic music theory education or musical background, in order to be able to use & utilize the software fully.